Recreating a Website From a Photo

After only 3 weeks of learning HTML 5 & CSS, I was given a class homework assignment to re-create a website from an image. I think I did pretty good. Let me know what you think.

PSDtoHTML

This was my reference image.

PSDtoHTML_2

This is my work after 8 hours.

At the end of the week I was given a test to do the same thing…and it took me 16 hours to complete it. After 16 hours of frustrating fun, I did it. It wasn’t perfect, but at least I finished it. This was probably the most challenging thing I’ve done in this class so far.

Sample image.

Sample image.

Finished project.

Finished project.

So is it easier to create a website from a picture (i.e. laying it out in Photoshop first) or just building it from scratch? I like to visualize and plan things out first, but this project was hard. I think if I was just doing this on my own, and not under the gun, I would’ve done better.

Leave a Reply

